Day 1… Continued


Let’s see… where was I? Okay… I remember.

If you didn’t read the first part of this post, you can do so here –> https://drdoulasays.wordpress.com/2017/07/26/day-1-i-saw-a-uterus-she-has-wings/

The baby was whisked away to the nursery. The assisting doctor massaged the mom’s abdomen as the lead doctor worked to expel the placenta from her uterus. He tugged on the umbilical cord a bit and as the placenta began to come out, he turned it in a circular motion. They put the placenta on a tray and put it aside. The assisting doctor continued to suction as the lead doctor massaged the abdomen.

Next, the doctor reached inside the mom’s abdomen with both hands and lifted her uterus outside her body. I have to take a moment to clarify what I mean by the uterus being lifted out of the body, because I never understood what people meant when they told me this happens during c-sections. And this is usually the time they send family out of the room. The uterus is still connected to the cervix which is connected to the vagina etc. It is more like having a shirt tag that is hanging outside of your shirt but still attached to it.

Anyway, the lead doctor began to manually examine the inside of the mom’s uterus. He felt around inside and brought his fingers out to look at the blood several times. Then he took the rag they had been using, which was completely red with blood, stuffed it inside the opening of the uterus and wiped around and around as someone would do if they were cleaning out a bowl or a large cup. (Oh did I mention what the surgical opening looked like on this uterus? My team lead leaned over and said, “This one kinda looks like an angry mouth…” And it did.)

I was AMAZED to see how quickly this organ that had just housed a baby 15 minutes before had shrunken. It had been large enough for the doctor to almost fit his whole forearm into and now he could barely fit his hand completely inside it as he used the rag to clean it out. There was a lot of blood suctioned out of this mom and some pooled around her uterus, so the doctors rung the towel out several times.

When the bleeding slowed down, he began his suturing. I saw three c-sections from start to finish that night and this doctor seemed the most meticulous with his suturing. He repaired her uterus layer by layer. And when he was finished he stopped to examine it to see if there any areas bleeding. He continued to cauterize and stitch until there was no more bleeding outside of her uterus.

So… this is the part that blew me away… When they had finished suturing and cauterizing, the doctor rotated the uterus forward (toward her public area) and put his hand along the side of the uterus and lifted it up. The best way I can describe it is to say that it looked like a translucent membrane and, inside of it, I saw a small, oblong white-ish thing about size of a green grape. I asked my team lead if that was her ovary. I had always wondered how the female anatomy stayed put. Diagrams leave much to be desired when illustrating the grandness of this part of the woman’s body.

I was standing less than six feet away observing, but couldn’t be sure until I looked more closely. That was when I saw a long tube across the top of the membrane less than the width of a macaroni noodle. That was her fallopian tube. The doctor lifted the membrane up again, and I saw it… It looked like HER UTERUS HAD WINGS. The visual was intense for me. What a gracious Creator.

It literally looked like her uterus could take flight. In that moment, I imagined something between Batman and Superman. I considered the power that was packed inside of this sister’s body and the fact that she had the ability to nurture a life inside her body. I contemplated how the functions were so amazing and how within a few months, her Fallopian tubes would once again resume their function of delivering eggs from the overaies to her fabulous uterus.

That was when I saw them bend the Fallopian tube, take suture thread and wrap it around and around the crimped tube as tight as they could. Next, one of the doctors grabbed the tip of the bent tube, while the other snipped the end off and cauterized it. The doctor holding the clipped end held it up and showed it to the mom. The repeated the same process on the opposite side with the doctor again showing the mom. It took me a moment, but then I realized that these symbols of what so many have adored for its Creatress abilities, had completed a journey. She had just had a tubal ligation or as we say in layman’ terms, she had her tubes tied.

After the tubal ligation, The doctor inspected the uterus again and folded it back into the mom’s body. Layer by layer, the doctors began to repair the open wounds. First, with the muscle, working in reverse layer by layer until he reached the top layer of skin.

Since the first day, I have see the same procedure done to birth babies into the world more than 10 times. I only see the “wings” when there is a tubal ligation, but I never forget the gift we have been given as women. I have several friends who focus on womb care. I believe along with others that the woman’s uterus is always trying to help us know how we are doing and coping in the world. I even have friends who have had hysterectomies who talk about how they still experience cramps and discomfort as if their uterii are still there, even though they have been removed, because the power of the uterus is so potent.

These experiences have truly increased my appreciation for the work that so many do that seeks to support the physiological aspects of a woman’s body. It really is a lot to ponder and consider.

Leave a Reply

